A Cup and Two Spoons

It has been over a year since my friends moved out of city. We never planned to stay after college…so, everybody moved except me!

I am here, it has been a year. I should have had some friends here by now. But the fact is I don’t. It has been both difficult and fun. I’ve spent more time with myself then I ever did before.

I have made this habit of roaming around the city, eating, going to movies, shopping…all by myself. And to be true, I somewhat enjoy it.

I went to a movie yesterday (Don’t ask, it was extremely boring!)

Well, the thing is I ordered sweet corn and the guy at the food counter was kind enough to serve me at my seat. The guy came up to me with this cup full of spicy corn with two spoons in it. I looked at the cup then looked at him. He gave me a slight smile and left. I looked at the cup again rather at the spoons I must say, for a little too long.

Why was it so obvious that I would have company?

No, it did not make me feel friendless or forlornย but it sure made me think about all the people who I wish were sitting beside me. The company that I desire lives miles and miles away from me. And I don’t want friends for the sake of just having someone; to think of them as substitutes. I would never prefer being one myself.

I have no idea what I am trying to convey.

Sometimes you feel a lot of things but you don’t know how to interpret them and that should be okay I guess.

The next time I go there and if they hand me a single spoon, I am definitely going to ask for an extra one ๐Ÿ™‚

PS: All you guys, I miss you!

WordPress Discover Numbers

11 thoughts on “A Cup and Two Spoons

  1. An another superb read from you.
    Not having friends on a particular time, doesn’t mean you are friendless because you yourself are best friend of yourself.
    I too miss my school friends, a lot after entering in the college life. I wish, I had them with me. ๐Ÿ˜

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Seemed like I saw a reflection of myself! Sometimes two spoons for oneself are more useful than one – like for cutting and lifting idli from a steaming bowl of idli-sambhar! Just kidding. I think it is good to enjoy one’s own company – then you can be alone but never feel lonely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

